Graduate students

Youn Hee Cho

Cho, Youn Hee - photo

I joined the lab in May 2015. I am fourth year undergraduate student at Ryerson majoring in biological sciences. I’ve had a special interest in science for as long as I can remember, and I have lots of memories of trying out experiments I had seen on TV (frequently ending in a huge mess – much to the dismay of my parents).

My project in Dr. McPhee’s lab focuses on adherent-invasive Escherichia coli (AIEC) resistance to host defense peptides. Specifically, I am investigating many AIEC strains for the differences between basal levels of resistance and resistance induced by specific growth conditions.

Michael Renouf

Michael is an MSc student who joined the lab in July 2016. He received his BSc in Biology from Queen’s University in 2011 and has since worked as an industrial researcher. Michael’s project focuses on understanding how some strains of AIEC are able to survive inside host macrophages. Outside of the lab, Michael is an avid cyclist, and a lifelong Blue Jays fan.

Adam Khan

I joined the McPhee lab in the fall of 2017 as a first year Master’s student. While completing my undergraduate degree at the University of Toronto, I developed a passion for the field of Microbiology and have been motivated to pursue a research-based degree ever since. I am working under the supervision of Dr. McPhee, primarily investigating the resistance response of different strains of adherent-invasive Escherichia coli (AIEC) to a steady concentration of host defense peptides. Outside of the lab, I like to watch and play sports, travel, and watch more than my share of Netflix.

Undergraduate students

Abuzar Abedin

Abuzar is a third year undergraduate student who joined the lab in May 2017 as an NSERC Undergraduate Summer Assistant award recipient. Currently his project focuses on exploring morphological changes in E. coli related to protein QueE and it’s effect on resistance to host defence peptide. This project aims to provide insight that can further strengthen the current research of Crohn’s disease.


McPhee Lab Alumni

Rebecca Cabral-Dias – undergraduate thesis student 2017-2018 (co-supervised with Dr. Costin Antonescu)

Najih Ismail – undergraduate thesis student 2017-2018

Ashuka Kayastha – undergraduate thesis student 2017-2018

Shion Song – undergraduate thesis student 2017-2018

Riasad Fadle Aziz – undergraduate thesis student 2017-2018

Tanuja Sutradhar – undergraduate thesis student 2017-2018

Viktoria Weisz – undergraduate volunteer 2016-2017

Mario Vargas MSc – graduate student 2015-2018

Jessica Kociper – undergraduate volunteer 2016-2017

Lauren Phillips – undergraduate thesis student 2016-2017

Veronica Cojocari – undergraduate thesis student 2015-16

Mariya-Nikol Leshchyshyn – undergraduate volunteer 2015-2016

Achjuthan Raveendran – undergraduate summer student 2016